Infiniti G20 Nissan Primera Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
"says here on your chart"
4,607 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
okay so my car overheated today, so i think it is my waterpump or the radiator. the only problem now is that my car makes a knocking sound when i push the gas and black smoke comes out of my tailpipe. now i am not an expert but i am pretty sure i fried something, my only question is what? i know that black smoke means that usually it is running lean but i don't think that is it since i have a knocking noise. so if anybody has any ideas let me know i am screwed here.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Black smoke-too rich. Blue smoke-burning oil.

Imagine a smoking candle, Blow on it gently and it will burn brighter and without smoking. Candle wax is a hydrocarbon and when you blow on it you are giving it more oxygen (02). It is exactly the same in your car's cylinders.

Quite the opposite of what you imagine, black smoke from the exhaust means that there is insufficient 02 to burn the hydrocarbon fuel – you are running too rich. This could be for a number of reasons, not least of which may be misfiring.

It sounds more like an ignition problem than anything – especially since you mention the "knocking noise" – which sounds like a cylinder/crankshaft inbalance. How does the engine perform?

Given the limited info you provide, who knows what your problem is? But it is definitely NOT running too lean!

·
ʎןןnɟ˙˙ǝdo&#6
2,773 Posts
Re: Black smoke-too rich. Blue smoke-burning oil.

Gaz said:
Imagine a smoking candle, Blow on it gently and it will burn brighter and without smoking. Candle wax is a hydrocarbon and when you blow on it you are giving it more oxygen (02). It is exactly the same in your car's cylinders.

Quite the opposite of what you imagine, black smoke from the exhaust means that there is insufficient 02 to burn the hydrocarbon fuel – you are running too rich. This could be for a number of reasons, not least of which may be misfiring.