Infiniti G20 Nissan Primera Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,733 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Now this question may sound stupid... and I'm sure a few of you will tell me that "it's already been answered", but what is the difference between Intake cams and Exhaust cams... First of all, This P10 G20 that I own now is my first 'Twin-Cam' engine... (I used to own a 92' 1.5L SOHC Civic) I'm not good at these mechanicals things you know... but I'm here to learn and I'd appreciate it if you guys could help me define them. (please don't knock me :bored: ) I'm glad I could ride a DOHC now, but I'd like to learn as much as possible... and asking is always the best way to start, instead of searching and finding random answers that were previously given. If I'm buying an exhaust cam do I have to get the intake one as well etc... Hit me up ya'll, I'd appreciate it!!:)

·
Registered
1,320 Posts
One cam runs the intake valves (two per cylinder) and one cam runs the exhaust valves (two per cylinder). It's often not practical to run two of each valve with a single cam shaft, so for the sake of engineering perfection, they have one cam shaft for each.

You might want to check this out, and use "DOHC" as the search criteria. There's a LOT of information here for non-mechanic types or simply for people who want to know more and don't know where to start looking. I love this site, despite the occasional artistic license. Hell, it's not like I've never oversimplified something for the sake of getting a point across (see above). :D

When you buy JWT cams, from JWT, you get both. Makes like JUN, Tomei, and Zex generally also sell in pairs, but you don't ever want to buy an aftermarket cam in the US except for a JWT. ;) When people talk about using a '91 cam in a non-'91 car, though, they're talking about using the '91 intake cam, since the exhaust cam was virtually if not exactly the same in later builds.

·
Premium Member
4,409 Posts
CowboyDren said: