Infiniti G20 Nissan Primera Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I'm a newbie to the forum. My girlfriend has a 95 g20 so I've joined this site to help me keep her car rolling. I drive a 68 Dodge so learning how to work on her car has been a bit of an adventure. I was able to replace her starter last week thanks to the posts on the forum and now its time for the next endeavor-the left cv axel. It's been clicking for a good while so I'll be putting a whole new axel and boot I suppose. It will be the first time I've done anything like it so I will thank you in advance for the help I'll surely need. More to come as I get started in the next day or so.

·
Registered
1,087 Posts
wow. my left cv axle is also clicking so if anybody wants to help us out then that would be appreciated. oh and welcome to the forums! hope you enjoy it here.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Correction...the right (passenger) axle. As I understand this is a little easier than the other...I hope.

·
Used to own a P10
5,396 Posts
You have to detach the steering knuckle from the tie rod and possibly the bottom of the strut for both sides. I think the FSM recommends disconnecting the knuckle from the ball joint, but that's more trouble than it's worth. For the left side, it then just slides right out; for the right side, there are three bolts holding it into a ring attached to the right side of the engine block. Make sure you put in new axle seals in the transmission before you slide the new axle in, or you may get some nice leaking transmission fluid.

I'm pretty sure there will be more info if you do a search. Also, if you don't have an FSM in your trunk, go to phatg20.net and download one from there.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5