Infiniti G20 Nissan Primera Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read the other posts on fuses, but I can't find the exact answer I need.

In February, a fuse blew in my car, causing the dash lights and tail lights to go out. I'm a car novice so I took it to the dealer, who changed the fuse. I figured it was a fluke and forgot about it.

This Saturday, the fuse blew again. After reading this forum, I assumed it was the 75A fuse. I know I should not have assumed this, but the dealer went out of business two weeks ago, so I couldn't call to ask them which fuse they replaced. I bought and installed the 75A fuse. This did not work. It turned out to be the "tail lamp" fuse inside the car, under the dash.

Last night, I replace the fuse above and it worked. I started driving, with the music on and about 10 minutes later, the fuse blew again.

I have a 1994 G20. My independent mechanic said I need to bring it to the dealer to be fixed because he thinks I have a short that could be anywhere in the car. The dealer near my house closed. The nearest dealer to me is now about 20 miles away.

I am loathe to take it to the dealer, especially since the fix will most likely cost as much as the car is worth.

I love my car and would rather not part with it. I have had it for its entire life.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to find the short? I know very little about cars. (It was a big deal for me to even figure out which fuse was causing the problem.)

I have an aftermarket Sony stereo. It was installed about 7 years ago. The place that did the installation disconnected the stock amps because they were causing a hissing noise. I'm not sure why the radio would cause a problem after 7 years. Could my stereo be going bad?