Infiniti G20 Nissan Primera Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys my 93 P10 is having a rough idle i thought it was the cap and rotor but, when i changed it nothing happend. so i looked on the web and found someone who told me to check the spark plugs and wires. so while the car was running it pulled the spark plug wires to see if idle would change. cylinder 1 no change in idle but cylinder 2-4 the idle would change. i don't know what that means as i'm still new to modding the car but if you have any idea what it could be please hit me up and if you need to know what is done to the car so far i can tell you if it will help diagnose the problem

thanks guys

·
Registered
500 Posts
Put in a replacement spark plug (NGK brand BKR6EGP) in cylinder 1 and start the car. (If you have a rough idle still, it probably means the fuel injector on cylinder 1 is bad. (I'm assuming the car runs with less power when you drive it. Not good to do-driving with a bad injector.) The fact that the idle changes when you remove the plug wire from cylinders 2 - 4 just means that they are functioning properly until YOU disconnect them from their source of spark. That the idle doesn't change when you disconnect the wire from cylinder 1, shows that cylinder 1 has something wrong happening with it.
If you pulled off the plug wire while the engine was running, it is to be expected that that cylinder would not be getting spark, and produce a rough idle. (You disconnected the SPARK plug wire from the plug, so of course the plug will not fire.)

Before you buy a new set of plug wires, I would test the fuel injector on that cylinder.
To test an injector, you have to disconnect the plug on the back of that injector. Press the plastic release button on the under side of the injector at its base and remove the plug from the injector.

To test the injector, use a digital multimeter, a cheap one will work fine ($15 at an auto parts store or even Wal-Mart).