Infiniti G20 Nissan Primera Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, first the introduction. been doign a small amount of reading and lerking. The name's Tim and i'm thinking about picking up a 93 G20 from the towing company where i work as a DD/beater. Ive owned 3 300ZXs since i was 14 and i'm pretty handy with a wrench. From what ive read ya'll seem like a nice knowledgable bunch here. (i appologize in advance for the long post i promise this isnt ganna be a habitual thing) :lick:

Now to the technical. I've been doing some reading through the faq and understand that like any other car (especially the Z) these things dont like to be neglected maint. wise. SO me working for a towing company and this car being towed by the sheriff's office, i have no previous maint records. I only plan on driving this car for about 3-4 months before i leave for the USAF but i dont want it to blow up on me after a couple of weeks. I plan on making regular 270 mile trips if that helps. Problems ive managed to find on the car so far:
Oil pan appears to be leaking, thank god its not a RWD and has a cross member through it so its no problem to pull it, but is it a cork gasket or can i use RTV silicon?
Power steering high pressure hose appears to be leaking, again looks like cake to fix it but is there anything else that commonly fails? also, is this like the Z's power steering system that calls for ATF?
Timing chain, what incraments does this need to be replaced, is the SR20 a contact motor? and is it a huge huge risk driving on the ticking time bomb of not having it replaced, or is it not as risky as a belt.