Infiniti G20 Nissan Primera Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey im new to g20.net
alot of you guyes post helped me fix my windsheild wiper motor, turn signal switch, change my fuel filter (when was still stock on a 1991 g20 with 283,000 miles (nasty black shiv came out of the old filter)) now i have one last problem with this car before i start on cosmetic work.....

My car is making a noise on the left side of the engine bay. i went to auto zone and the guy said i might need pulley bearings but i havent gotten around to figuring out which pulley. i would like to know what tools i would need to change this/ replace and if im feeling to lazy how much would it cost for a auto mechanic to do it (estimate). also i would like to know if it is ok to use sae 90 gear oil to lube the bearings if possible>(been searching the internet and came across this idea)

all advice is greatly appreciated

·
Premium Member
11,383 Posts
The only bearings on the belt side of the motor will be on the water pump, power steering pump, AC pump, or alternator. My guess, its either the WP, or PS. Might want to narrow it down a bit more for repair options here.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
it is the alternator pulley and the belt is moving side to side...
damn does this mean i gotta get a new alternator ?
also the car is making a sorta light grinding sound ....
do you think it is safe to be driving the car if the car is doing this?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yea the bolt is on pretty tight
its making a grinding noise and the belt is going side to side
any other ideas ??

·
De La Code
6,945 Posts
I would check the crank pulley. My crank pulley seperated from the outer ring while I was driving. It also started to grind before it broke btw.

·
Registered
627 Posts