Infiniti G20 Nissan Primera Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Because Ive been a Toyota fan for over 20 years now...

Im still kinda new to the Nissans. Sorry for my NEWB questions.

With my Toyotas, when the power steering fluid is low or empty, I just top off with ATF fluid. Ive been doing this for years.

However, on my P11 G20, I didnt see an Dextron II/III notice on the reservoir. Does it take a certain type of power steering fluid or can I put ATF in there as well?

·
looking for a can opener
2,399 Posts
NO conditions is ATF to be used in power steering systems. The pressure in a power steering system on hard turns is much higher than that in an automatic transmission under load. Power steering fluid is clear in color. Power steering fluid turns dark because of heat created by the high pressure when held in hard turns. ATF will become very hot under loads and start to break down causing electrochemical degradation, this also happens with power steering fluid but not as fast was with ATF. Once this process starts, your power steering pump and rack & pinion begin to clog with sludge and varnish deposits. The sludge and varnish can cause stiffness, leaks, or complete system failures. "
-tHE iNtErnet

(i would have never been able to explain it as clear as ^)

·
Premium Member
11,585 Posts