Infiniti G20 Nissan Primera Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I drove a couple 2000 G20s today. The one I liked the best had been really well cared for, but it has 135,000 miles, mostly freeway. Since I'm pretty new to the world of Infinitis, I'm not sure if I should be concerned by that number. It's obviously high for a car that age, but can I reasonably expect it to get me up to 200,000 or better? Like I said, it seems to be well maintained, so I'm pretty optimistic. I'd appreciate input and thoughts.

Also, when test driving it, I noticed when I hit the stops on the steering, I got a bit of a squeak coming from the front end. Normal for this car?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

·
Registered
8,918 Posts
If it has been well cared for mechanically then it will last a long time.
There are lots of guys on the west side of the state for you too. :smile:

·
Registered
2,270 Posts
If you are into tuning it is a bit easier to do with a 1999. But if you are not into tuning or like a slightly newer car, the 2000+ are great as they have a few extras and a bit more low end (initial power).

The older non-roller rocker engines commonly do 300,000+ and the newer type of engine, a roller rocker, in 2000+ G20s seemingly can do the same. The highest that I know of is 220,000 in a friends Sentra SE 2.0 which has a nearly identical engine to 2000+ G20s.

As for the squeak check the power steering for leaks. The clamps that Infiniti uses are cheap... Can lead to squeaks. Look under the passenger side for red drops of ATF (PS pump uses Dexron III) or with the engine off and cool follow the belts back to the power steering pump and feel around for fluid. (Also do not do full lock for more than 15 seconds per the FSM.)

I do not know if you know all the terms, but if you do not just ask - there are a lot of good guys on this forum that will help you out.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #8