Infiniti G20 Nissan Primera Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
925 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's the deal. My folks are willing to sell me my dad's '04 G35 for a steal of a deal. It has probably about 60K miles on it. Mostly freeway miles since my dad drives a lot.

Here's what I have to pay for it.
$8500 that was left over from my stock sales that was meant to pay for school but doesn't have to since I have graduated.
I also have to give him my 99 G20t which has 130,000 miles on it.

How can I pass this up? Thats a 04 coupe for like 12K.

I guess I am trying to figure out if I can afford it.
I'm a 22 yr old male living alone in Scottsdale, AZ. I have a clean driving record. I graduated from college with honors.

So for you g35 owners...
I was wondering what you guys pay for insurance?
What are your maintenance costs like?
Gas?

Please any information would help seeing as I am living on a very limited budget. I'd hate to pass this up, but I have to be responsible about i to. I mean, there is nothing wrong with my car, so is the upgrade neccessary?

·
Registered
293 Posts
i'm pretty sure the G35 takes premium gas, so your gas expense is gonna go up. my co-worker drives one and she said she only gets about 20mpg, but thats rush hour traffic commute.

·
Registered
1,206 Posts
I would like to buy my Dad's 03 6MT Sedan in 2 years when he is done with it. My little brother will be turning 16 then and I'll probably try to use our 99 G as a "trade in" on the deal :)

If you really like driving the new Gs and can afford it then why not?

·
Registered
978 Posts
Keep the G20. The G35 is hella sweet, but if you're on a budget it's not really doable.
I was in a toss up between a nice white 04 G35 and my G20. My insurance would have cost almost $100 more per month, it had worse gas mileage (maybe because I just drove the shit out of the g35 when I tested it for a few days), and I had to come up with 7k extra down to get it.