Infiniti G20 Nissan Primera Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, flat out Im a newbie. Im not dumb though, and have been into cars all my life, just not imports. Well, I now own a 95' G20 5spd, I really like the car, and its not horribly slow, but It sure would make a killer sleeper. Ive been reading around, and it seems modding the stock SR20DE isnt all the worthwhile, at least to me the results I see arent worth the money Im seeing invested. Id like to look into the SR20DET a bit more, but I have now come across a VE? I have no clue what it is, nor how it compares, if its not ultra-expensiver or rare, some info would be nice, as well as a good place to buy it at. The DET is a turbo engine, and to my understanding, only the lowest HP version fits the G20's, possibly Im wrong, I do not know. Well guys, enlighten me=)

·
Registered
586 Posts
First off, welcome ;) and as for your question, I'm not sure about the VE, I've got a 99 and I'm seriously considering the BB DET. And I agree with you, doing the upgrades (turbo, ECU, etc) on the DE isn't worth it, unless you've got lots and lots of time to do it. Here are a couple of sites that can help.

http://www.sr20de.net/index.html

http://www.sr20deforum.com/

Too bad you're not in So. Cal, from what I've been told there's a pretty good shop there that deals alot with DET swaps. http://www.sr20development.com/

Hope this helps. :p

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
From what little info Ive been able to gather, Id like to buy a SR20VE and put in the stock cams from the SR16VE, supposed to be good for roughly 10-15hp. Only real problem is I have no clue what the VE costs, or where It can be found. I would personally much rather have a NA engine, they really cant be modded as radically, but they maintain reliability, drivability, and simplicity, very good characteristics. Plus I think for a daily driver a 2900lb G20 with 200 plus hp and a 5spd would be a AWESOME combo!